Osprey Wins Maycroft Cup at Sag Harbor Yacht Club

Osprey, captained by George Martin, won the annual Maycroft Cup at the Sag Harbor Yacht Club. Daniel Gonzalez photo

On a day that was made for racing sailboats, captain George Martin sailed Osprey  to victory in the annual Maycroft Cup regatta at the Sag Harbor Yacht Club on Saturday, September 22. With the wind blowing from the northwest and oscillating to the northeast at 8 to 15 knots, 16 boats in four divisions started in Shelter Island Sound, raced past the Cedar Point Lighthouse into Gardiner’s Bay, and finished near the Sag Harbor breakwater. Martin finished first in the division 2 spinnaker division, and was first overall. Other winners included Steve and Liam Kenny aboard Gossip in the division 1 spinnaker division, Andrew Paris and Impulse in division 3, non spinnaker, and Adam Sandberg and Embla in division 4, non spinnaker.

For complete results visit sagharboryc.org and click on “events.”

Sixteen boats competed for the Maycroft Cup on Sunday. Daniel Gonzalez photo