Local Races on Ballot in Primary Election on Tuesday, June 25

Alex Gregor.
Alex Gregor.

Registered Democrats and Independence Party members will go to the polls on Tuesday, July 25 for primary elections to choose nominees for six town offices — four in Southampton Town and two in East Hampton — that will be at stake in the general election in November.

In Southampton Town, Highway Superintendent Alex Gregor of East Quogue has mounted a primary challenge to incumbent Jay Schneiderman for the Independence Party line in the supervisor race.

If Mr. Gregor, a registered Independent in the middle of his third four-year term as highway superintendent, wins the primary election next week, it will become a three-way race for supervisor in November.

Seeking a third two-year term, Mr. Schneiderman also has the Democratic, Working Families and Conservative lines. He faces Republican nominee Greg Robins of North Sea in the general election.

In the race for five seats on the Southampton Town Board of Trustees, former Trustee Frederick Havemeyer is challenging Democratic nominees Bill Pell, Ann Welker, David Mayer and Andrew Brosnan. Mr. Pell and Ms. Welker are incumbents seeking reelection.

Also in Southampton, Gordon L. Herr, the chair of the Southampton Town Democratic Committee, is challenging Town Tax Receiver Theresa Kiernan as the nominee of the Independence Party for reelection. Mr. Herr is also running on the Democratic line and Ms. Kiernan also has the Republican and Conservative Party nominations.

In East Hampton Town, veteran Town Justice Lisa Rana, a Republican who has run in the past with Democratic cross-endorsement, is challenging party nominee Andrew Strong for the Democratic line. Justice Rana also serves as a judge in Sag Harbor’s village justice court and won reelection with no opposition on June 18.

There’s a 12-person race in East Hampton for the nomination to run on the Democratic line for the nine seats on the Board of Trustees. The committee’s nominees are incumbents Susan McGraw-Keeber, John Aldred, William Taylor, Richard Drew and Francis Bock and it has cross-endorsed one of two Republican incumbents, James Grimes. The Democrats also have endorsed Mike Martinsen, Tim Garneau and Benjamin Dolinger for the trustee race.

Three people are challenging the party’s nominees: incumbents Rick Drew and Dell Cullum, who were elected as Democrats but passed over this year by the committee. They are running with Rona Klopman, a founder of the Reform Democrats wing of the committee.