Largely Status Quo, As Sag Harbor Village Board Prepares For A New Year

In a sign of the times, Sag Harbor Village Trustees James Larocca, left, and Thomas Gardella wear masks as they are sworn in for two-year terms by Village Clerk Beth Kamper on Monday, September 21. STEPHEN J. KOTZ

In a year that has been anything but, it was largely status quo on Monday, September 21, as the Sag Harbor Village Board gathered — remotely, of course — for its annual organizational meeting after a brief — and socially distanced — swearing in of reelected

Trustees James Larocca and Thomas Gardella on the steps of the Municipal Building.
In the only change, Val Florio, an architect who has served before as a member of the Board of Historic Preservation and Architectural Review, has been reappointed to the board for a new three-year term to replace fellow architect David Berridge, whose term expired. Steven Williams was also appointed to another three-year term.

The board also reappointed Kay Preston Lawson as chairwoman of the Planning Board, Tim McGuire as chairman of the Zoning Board of Appeals, Dean Gomolka as chairman of the BOHPAR, and Mary Ann Eddy as chairwoman of the Harbor Committee.
Scott Baker, J. Hamil Willoughby, and Alex Matthiessen were reappointed to five-year terms on the ZBA, and Ms. Eddy, Will Sharp, and Herbert Sambol were reappointed to three-year terms on the Harbor Committee.

Joe Fisher was reappointed alternate member for the ZBA, Ronald Reed for the Planning Board, Robert Adams for the BOHPAR, and Kate Plumb for the Harbor Committee.

Denise Schoen was reappointed village attorney. She will also serve as the Planning Board’s attorney. Elizabeth Vail will continue to serve as ZBA and BOHPAR attorney, and Fred W. Thiele Jr. will serve as Harbor Committee counsel.