HarborFest Winners

Monica Miller throws up her hands as she finishes in second place at the Clam Schucking Contest during the second day of HarborFest 2012 on Sunday, 9/16/12

There were blue skies and a blustery wind for this year’s Sag HarborFest, held last weekend throughout the village. With a wharf full of food vendors and craftsmen, walking tours through the historic neighborhoods and a sidewalk sale up and down Main Street, thousands of visitors came to help celebrate Sag Harbor’s maritime heritage. As always there was a host of contests for children and adults to participate in.

In the corn shucking contest there was a tie for first, between brothers Brandon and Matthew Braccia. Winner of the tug-o-war was the team made up of Kristin Pettigrew, Madie Martin, Joyce Areia, Amaro Padilla and Georgia DeNardo; both events sponsored by eth Sag Harbor Chamber of Commerce.

In the clam chowder contest, sponsored by eth Sag Harbor Food Pantry, the Dockhouse retained its title for making the best red chowder, while B. Smith’s claimed the top spot for white chowder. Claiming the Shucker of the Year title in the annual clamshucking contest, also sponsored by the food pantry, was John Tocco.

The whaleboat races for the coveted Whalers Cup, sponsored by The Sag Harbor Express, saw a modest field this year. Team Whalers, with Billy Martin, Ray Pettigrew, Sean Beyel and Chris Tice on board took first in the men’s division for the 15th year, while the team from Joseph Labrozzi, Jr., with Autumn Berndt, Erica McSweeney, Heidi Wilson and Meghan Kezer in the boat, won in the women’s division.

The Sag Harbor Dive Team successfully defended its championship in the Firefighters Cup Whaleboat Races, with a team of Scott Fordham, J.R. Wilson, Rich Simmons and Mike Guyer.