Hamptons Collegiate Baseball To Host Its Eighth All-Star Game This Saturday

Whaler Eli Larson (Richmond) will be playing in this Saturday's HCBL All-Star Game. RON ESPOSITO

The eighth Hamptons Collegiate Baseball League All-Star Game is set for this Saturday, July 17, at Cochran Park in Peconic, home of the North Fork Ospreys. First pitch is slated for 5 p.m.

Rosters for both teams were released this past Sunday evening. The game will feature the Gold Team All-Stars comprised of players from the Southampton Breakers, South Shore Clippers and Sag Harbor Whalers, pitted against the Red Team All-Stars, featuring players from the Riverhead Tomcats, Westhampton Aviators and North Fork Ospreys.

ag Harbor Whaler Andy Axelson (Rutgers-New Brunswick) was selected as one of three catchers for the Gold Team All-Stars. RON ESPOSITO

Southampton Breakers Manager Rob Cafiero was selected to lead the Gold Team All-Stars. The Gold Team’s pitchers include; Jason Acker (Sag Harbor/Nova Southeastern), Tyler Cortland (Sag Harbor/Dartmouth), Jason Diaz (South Shore/Monroe), Matt Jachec (Southampton/Indiana State), Bryan Krolikowski (Southampton/Nassau CC), Andrew Ledbetter (Southampton/Stony Brook), Frankie Murphy (South Shore/Vassar), Liam Pulsipher (South Shore/Queens), Justin Sinibaldi (Sag Harbor/Rutgers) and Michael Volgende (Southampton/Tufts). Catchers include Andy Axelson (Sag Harbor/Rutgers), Alec Maag (South Shore/Adelphi) and Andrew Primm (Southampton/Pace). Infielders include Matthew Brown-Eiring (South Shore/Stony Brook), Cole Hebble (Sag Harbor/Swarthmore), Lance Kruse (Southampton/Southwestern), Aidan Larkin (South Shore/Hofstra), Eli Larson (Sag Harbor/Richmond), Ryan Mullahey (Sag Harbor/Long Island), Chad Pike (South Shore/Suffolk CC) and T.J. Werner (South Shore/Fairleigh Dickinson). Outfielders include Kieran Dowd (Sag Harbor/Southern New Hampshire), Will Gale (Southampton/Seton Hall), Mason Marquez (Southampton/Abilene Christian), Paul Orbon (South Shore/St. John’s), Parker Stinson (Southampton/Indiana State) and Alex Ungar (South Shore/Albany). Designated hitters include Marco Ali (Southampton/Marist) and Eric Maddenberg (Sag Harbor/Binghamton). Pitcher Sawyer Durate (Southampton/Middlebury), infielder Luke Napolitano (Sag Harbor/Hofstra) and outfielder Garrett Scavelli (Sag Harbor/Molloy) were named as reserves.

The Red Team All-Stars will be managed by Riverhead Tomcats manager Bill Ianniciello. Pitchers selected to the team include Jake Fraher (North Fork/Monmouth), Jackson Fraser (North Fork/LSU Eunice), Nicholas Luc (Westhampton/Adelphi), Cameron Mayer (Riverhead/Tufts), Thomas Messina (Westhampton/Farmingdale State), Paxton Meyers (North Fork/Brown), Coleton Reitan (Riverhead/Wesleyan), Alex Schoessler (Riverhead/Swarthmore), Logan Verrino (Westhampton/Florida Southern and Cole Zaffiro (Riverhead/Pennsylvania). Catchers selected include Greg Budig (Westhampton/Western Michigan), Ryan Micheli (Riverhead/Stony Brook) and Andrew Nole (North Fork/Lehigh). Infielders selected include Matt Alifano (Westhampton/Adelphi), Riley Davis (North Fork/Lehigh), Will Feil (Riverhead/Albany), Jake Liberatore (Westhampton/Iona), Cameron Love (Riverhead/Rutgers), Steven Luttazi (North Fork/UMass), Peter Marren (North Fork/Georgetown) and Reece Rappoli (North Fork/Brown). Outfielders selected include Chris Andrews (North Fork/Monmouth), Kevin Bowrosen (Riverhead/James Madison), Tim Feliz (Westhampton/Adelphi), Brian Morrell (Riverhead/St. John’s), Kyle Olson (Westhampton/Adelphi) and Brad Shimabuku (Westhampton/Chapman). Joseph Gisonda (Riverhead/Albany) and Austin Kirkpatrick (Westhampton/Northwestern State) were selected as the Red Team’s designated hitters and pitcher Douglas Goodwin (Westhampton/Binghamton), outfielder Michael Prisco (North Fork/Albany) and infielder Chuck Sanzio (Riverhead/St. John’s) were named reserves.

Home Run Derby Lineup Is Set 

The HCBL’s Home Run Derby will take place at 3 p.m. prior to the All-Star Game on Saturday. North Fork’s Steven Luttazi (UMass), Riverhead’s Idris Carter (Stony Brook), Sag Harbor’s Sean Springer (Cincinnati), South Shore’s Matthew Brown-Eiring (Stony Brook), Southampton’s Lance Kruse (Southwestern) and Westhampton’s Tommy Verga (Fairleigh Dickinson) were all selected to represent their respective teams. Luttazi, Brown-Eiring and Verga were among the league’s top power hitters as of Monday morning each with four home runs.

The seventh and final player of the derby will be determined by a fan vote via social media. Voting started this past Monday and will run through this Thursday, July 15. Players up for the vote include North Fork’s Andrew Nole, Riverhead’s Brian Morrell, Sag Harbor’s Charlie Adamson, Southampton’s Mason Marquez, South Shore’s Alex Ungar and Westhampton’s Greg Budig. Marquez was the league’s leader in home runs with five as of Monday night.

To vote for a player go to hamptonsbaseball.org.