East Hampton Democrats Pick Slate, Endorse Incumbents

From left, David Lys, Andrew Strong, Sylvia Overby and Peter Van Scoyoc. Susan McGraw-Keber photo

The East Hampton Democratic Committee supported its incumbents on the East Hampton Town Board at its convention on February 13, formally nominating Supervisor Peter Van Scoyoc, Councilwoman Sylvia Overby and Councilman David Lys to run for re-election on November 5.

Mr. Van Scoyoc, a former councilman, is seeking his second two-year term as supervisor. Ms. Overby is running for her third four-year term. Mr. Lys was appointed to the town board in January, 2018, and last November won an election to serve out the last year of Mr. Van Scoyoc’s council term. In November, 2019, Mr. Lys will be running for his first full elected term.

The committee last week also nominated five incumbents to run for town trustee, including John Aldred, clerk Francis Bock, Rick Drew, Susan McGraw-Keber and deputy clerk Bill Taylor.

It also threw its support behind Jim Grimes, a Republican who also serves as deputy clerk. Zach Cohen, Tim Garneau and Mike Martinsen will round out the committee’s trustee candidates.

The committee endorsed Andrew Strong for town justice. Mr. Strong is general counsel for the nonprofit Organizacion Latino-Americana of Eastern Long Island. Incumbent highway superintendent Steven Lynch and tax assessors Jeanne Nielsen and Jill Massa also won the Democratic endorsement.

The Republican Party is expected to announce its slate at its nominating convention on Saturday, February 23. Both the East Hampton Town Independence Party and the Reform Democrats have also announced they will hold their own screenings at the end of February and early in March.